

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

FEDERAL DISASTER DECLARATION FACT SHEET

SEPTEMBER 10, 2021

On September 5, 2021, President Joseph R. Biden Jr. granted a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of New Jersey triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from the Remnants of Hurricane Ida that occurred September 1-3, 2021. **This disaster declaration has been amended as indicated below in bold.** Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number:	FEMA-4614-DR
Incident:	Remnants of Hurricane Ida
Incident Period:	September 1-3, 2021
Federal Coordinating Officer:	Patrick Cornbill National FCO Program
Individual Assistance (IA):	(Assistance to individuals and households):
IA-Designated Counties:	Bergen, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic, Somerset, and Union Counties.
Public Assistance (PA):	(Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged

facilities):

PA-Designated Counties: Bergen, Essex,

Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic, Somerset, and Union

Counties.

Hazard Mitigation (HM): (Assistance for actions taken to

prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural

hazards):

HM-Designated Areas:

All areas in the State of

New Jersey are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant

Program.

OTHER: Additional designations may be made

at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further

assessments.

Individuals in Bergen, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic, Somerset, and Union Counties can apply with FEMA the following ways:

- Apply online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov.
- Constituents may call the application phone number at 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585).